Reuben ‘s finally come in from the garden and is trying to rest on a small bench in the playroom.He is just starting to nod off when he hears singing ” Come and meet those dancing feet…on the avenue I’m taking you to…forty- second street ”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

” Rudy! Rudy! My Darlink wake up your Anna is here !”
” What the !” Reuben looks at the little strange bear in front of him ” I was trying to sleep, go away!”
The bear gives a tinkling laugh ” Ah Rudy you have not changed one bit”
” Who is Rudy? ” asks Reuben  angrily ” My name is Reuben not Rudy !”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The little bear looks closely at Reuben ” Oh I make ze mistake you are not Rudy ze companion of the great Rudolf  Nureyev ! ” for a moment the little bear looks sad then brightening she continues ” my name is Anastasia Rachmanjackov Talstory formerly of the Bolstoy Ballet, that’s in Russia you know and you can call me Anna!”
Reuben looks at Anna wondering if he’s asleep and this is some kind of strange dream.
” Oh Ruby you look so sad! ” she moves closer forcing him back ” I can tell all from one look ”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

“Let me look into your Mincy Pies !” say Anna dramatically
” My What! ” growls Reuben
” You Mincy pies ! Mm Eyes ! It is the cocky knees that Mrs Mum taught me ” says Anna ” Now hold still while I look deep” she holds Reuben still while she oo’s and arh’s.
” I see such sadness, you have lost some think! no no some one who is dear to you ”
Reuben pulls away and turns his back.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

” Do not worry so ! ” says Anna to Reuben’s back ” All will how you say wash out in tide!”
“Time ” corrects Reuben automatically
” Yes Time!” Anna’s tinkling laugh makes Reuben shiver ” Now you must come to my dance class it will help to relax these tense shoulders and bring some happiness into you soul!”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

” I do not Dance !” say Reuben sternly
” Everyone dances !” exclaims Anna ” I have been trained in the Ballet since I was a cub!”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

” She gets up and does a twirl or two and sinks into a deep curtsy. Reuben is impressed not that he’d say anything.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

“Now I am too old to dance ze ballet all ze times , so I do ze shows dancing tappy tap” she starts singing
” Heaven I’m in Heaven and my heart beats so” she sings slightly high and off key!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Reuben covers his ears at the off key singing. Anna stops and laughs her tinkling laugh ” I know ze singing is not so goods but I love to sing ! It makes me happy”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

“Well I cannot sit here chitting and chatting with you, I must prepare for my dance classes, I hold them every Tuesday and Wednesday 2 til 5 o ze clock, you must come! ”
She moves to the edge of the bench ready to jump down ” If you look for ze Np , you must talk with the Lady Kendal she has lots of those in her mansion in the north, ask Edward or Mossy they have seen them ”
She jumps down hurrying away calling ” Tuesday Wednesday 2 til 5 do not be late!!”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Reuben lays back down trying to get comfortable his head filled with the funny little Anna’s words, Lady Kendal’s Np’s !

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

He tosses and turns and finally makes his mind up ! He must find out more about this Lady Kendal and her Np’s maybe what he seeks is there! Slowly he falls asleep and a small smiles curves his mouth.

