OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Hattie is with her rabbit Hoppit in her workroom , she’s washed her hair , so has tied it in a scarf while it dries.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Going over to the sewing table she look’s at her large poster of her beloved Helena Bonham Carter.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

She reaches out and say’s ” Helena I need some of your fabulous style for my new hat range !” then she stands and stares waiting for inspiration to come !

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Hearing a noise Hattie turns towards the door to see a little bear standing there puffing !

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

“Hello” says Hattie ” I think I have heard of you!”
” Ha ve  yo u ” Puffs the little Bear ” I ..don’t..remember me.eting you!” he finishes catching his breath.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAHattie helps him onto the table, so she can look him over !
” Why were you running? ”
” Oh  , nothing really just trying to avoid that grumpy old Panda!”
” I knew I ‘d heard of you, youre Reuben? ” says Hattie
” That’s right ” says Reuben standing taller, it would appear he was getting quite famous , unfortunately unknown to him, for all the wrong reason’s!
” Mm yes I remember a couple of my sister’s told me how you are looking for an NP to be your little Miss!”
” That’s right ! ” says Reuben glad these village children were finally getting the message! ” and I can see by that thing under your nose you don’t qualify !” he finishes rudely

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

” So on that note I’ll be off ” says Reuben turning his back on Hattie and getting down from the table.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Reuben makes his way towards the door, hoping that Edward’s not still outside in the hallway
” Oh before you leave ” calls Hattie removing her scarf now her hair’s dried ” I’m sure you have been told that here we, the children , pick our bears ”
” Yes yes ” mutters Reuben intent on getting to the door and out and away
” Good, then as it seems you need a strong hand I PICK YOU !”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
the room goes silent as Reuben stops stunned ! Did she just say what I think she said? he cannot believe his ears, he slowly starts to turn.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Hoppit who’d been dozing over on the chair cannot believe his ears either!! HIS Miss Hattie did not need that old bear!

Reuben who’d closed his eyes as he turned all the better for him to blast this little upstart out of the room!
Open’s his eyes to see…… a red haired WAIF!!!!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

He does the only thing a bear of his quality faced with such a situation can do……he faints!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Hattie covers him with her scarf and goes back to her wool and cotton basket to carry on deciding on her autumn range.
Hoppit  hop’s off the chair and tries to strangle Reuben , who is now awake and moaning about his fate!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Reuben manages to push Hoppit off him and catch his breath. ” Bad enough that Waif ! ” he shivers at that word ” think’s I’m her bear but she’s got a Mad murderous Rabbit for a pet!”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

He decides to try to reason with her ” Look here you! I DO NOT BELONG TO YOU! ” that’s told her he thinks, what’s that sound?… is she giggling? she is she’s giggling ! ” What’s so funny? ” demands Reuben
” You are ” she giggles not  even bothering to turn round ” I’m sure we’ll get on just fine..once you realise whose in charge ”
” Why ! I ! It’s Not! ” Reuben is lost for words , he decides he’ll have a word with that Mrs Mum woman , she’ll set this child straight!
“What’s you name ! ” demands Reuben rudely, he’ll need to know so Mrs Mum know’s which one he’s talking about
” Harriet Bonham Carter Owen ” replies Hattie ” But everyone calls me Hattie ”
He faints again!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

When he recovers he sneaks out to the computer and sends an video message …

” Lady Kendal ! I will be visiting your area, tut North !, In a few weeks, please have your Np’s ready for me to inspect and please ignore any rumours you may hear of my being…” he swallow’s ” owned !
your’s with the greatest respect  Reuben Red.”

He makes his way back to the chair, where he rests still in shock at what’s happened!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

He starts to plan, he’s not finished yet ! It’s not over till the NP sings………..for him!

xx

